wellbeing

Tips for Dealing With Anxiety at Work…

Anxiety is horrible, it affects so many of us, all over the world, it can creep up on you and attack out of nowhere, for me, it’s normally a sign that I’m doing too much and I need to rest, but we all have busy lives and sometimes it’s not always possible to just stop straight away. Anxiety isn’t kind and usually pays us a visit when we’re not in the best environment to deal with it. so here I thought I’d share my tips for dealing with anxiety at work.

Breath – Find a quiet spot, or even stay at your desk, sit in a chair with your feet flat on the floor. Palms on your lap or on the desk in front of you. Head forward, close your eyes, sit straight and take a few slow, even, deep breaths, in through your nose and slowly out through your mouth. Try and imagine the tension leaving your body through the out breath, do this for a few minutes until your mind feels clearer, it’s amazing how much this simple act of mindfulness can help

Glitter – This one sounds silly but I find it intensely calming. I have two small tubes of glitter sat on my desk – just the old school kids craft loose glitter tubes you can get in the pound shop, I pour a little away so the tube isn’t quite full (or use it for a craft or a friends birthday card) and when I feel anxiety or stress, I turn the tube upside down like an egg timer and watch the glitter fall, then turn it back, over and over again, for a few minutes, there’s something about watching the glitter falling that grounds me – I think it’s something that’s suggested to help calm toddlers, but it works for me too! It’s also great for inspiration if you’re brainstorming ideas or solving problems. Give it a try…

Walk – get up and walk around the office, get out of the building a do a lap round the car park, 5 minutes of fresh air will help adjust your focus.

Music – pop your headphones in if you can and find some calm music to listen to for a bit. Again this will give you something else to focus on and will ground you.

Photos – I have a small picture of my wedding day on my desk which will help calm with a quick glance. Any picture of a happy or calming memory will have the same effect.
All of these techniques are about regaining focus and grounding. A final grounding technique to remember when trying to fight a panic attack is to look around you, name 5 things you can see, 4 things you can touch, 3 things you can hear, 2 things you can smell and 1 thing you can taste.

Once you’ve made it through the day a blend of a few drops of lavender and chamomile essential oils mixed with an almond carrier oil and applied to the soles of the feet should help rid your body of anxiety and promote a peaceful night sleep…

These are the things that I find work for me, I hope they help. 

8 thoughts on “Tips for Dealing With Anxiety at Work…

Leave a Reply

