wellbeing

Warrior in Training…

Today I want to write something about strength. Not physical, who can pinch the hardest or who can yell the loudest but that actual inner gut deep strength that keeps you getting out of bed in the morning and moving forward in life, long after you think you can’t go on any further. There are moments in life, that strike us down, out of the blue, situations that we never thought we would face and have no idea how we will get through, these moments are going to happen, things that knock the wind out of us and make us feel like we can’t go on anymore, there’s nothing we can do about that, it’s how we get back up again, how we carry on that makes us who we are…
So how do you keep going when everything is falling apart? When you’re too exhausted to even think straight? So heart broken that you think you won’t ever recover? Or just plain sick of the shit people keep throwing at you? Well if we really knew it would be like having the ultimate secret of the universe wouldn’t it? The fact is our brains and bodies just keep going because we have to. Here’s what helps me…

Put one foot in front of the other – left foot right foot, no matter how much it hurts keep moving forward, keep crawling, walking, steering your wheelchair, pushing your walking frame, just keep going, minute by minute, keep getting up in the morning and going to sleep at night and have faith that this is just a moment in time and eventually this too, will pass

Breathe – in through the nose for the count of three, out through the mouth for the count of four, make the out breath as even as possible. Calm, level breathing is a great way to calm down quickly.

Listen to yourself – our bodies and minds are so good at telling us what we need. So listen and do whatever it is you need to, some people find confidence in killer heels or kick ass red lipstick, some in the clothes they wear or meditation, for me it’s music, it reminds me of who I am and how much I am capable of, it helps me hold my head high and walk with purpose. Look after yourself, eat, sleep and listen to what your body is telling you.

Cry it out – I cry, a lot, I don’t believe this makes me weak, in fact the total opposite, being in touch with my emotions is what I feel makes me strong, I don’t bottle stuff up, I feel compassion and empathy for others and I cry when I’m happy, when I’m sad, when something moves me – I’ve been known to cry at adverts! But I’m not ashamed! – I find it makes me much more level headed and I always feel better, stronger and more focused after a good old fashioned cry.

Remember who you are- You are who you are and you’re beautiful. Your worth does not change based on people’s opinions of you or whatever shitty situation is happening around you. Remember who you are. When everything else goes to shit you have to be able to love yourself, that’s where true strength comes from. Look at yourself in the mirror, wipe the tears away and see yourself for what you are, beautiful, compassionate, strong. You’re a fucking warrior x

Leave a Reply

